Dyslexic
Translate »

Contemplatives in Action

Spring 2021 JV Retreat

This spring, our theme is Contemplatives in Action. During the spring retreat, Jesuit Volunteer/AmeriCorps Members will be invited to be contemplatives- one who not only uses their passions and skills- but also mindfully sets aside time to think on the past and present, so to move towards informed action for the future. The invitation is to reflect in a deep, intentional way on the experiences of the past nine months around the core values of JVC Northwest. This moment of pausing helps to provide an orientation towards a long view on how to co-create social, ecological, and equitable change throughout one’s life. Contemplatives create space for deep listening of their own desires, values, and needs- as well as the assets and needs of their local/global community. Seeking to take action moves them to be individual and collective agents of change.

Schedules

Our Retreat will occur within our three retreat regions. There will be gatherings that are program wide (all three retreat regions) and some gatherings that are region specific. Not sure what your community’s retreat region is? See below regional information. Note: Big Sky/Mountain West schedule has both Mountain and Pacific time zones.

Identity Meet Ups

Non-Christian Meet-Up 
Facilitators: Matt Ferguson (he/him) and Monica Glasscock (she/they)
Friday, April 16 1:30 p.m. AK/2:30 p.m. PT/3:30 p.m. MT
Access the Meet Up
BIPOC Liberation Meet-Up 
Facilitators: Zayna Abusada (she/her), Fumi Tosu (he/him) and Mo Wieser (she/they)
Friday April 16, 4:30 p.m. AK/5:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. MT
Access the Meet Up
White Accountability Session 
Facilitators: Adrianna Horsey (she/her) and Michelle Manning (she/her)
Friday, April 16, 4:30 p.m. AK/5:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. MT
Access the Meet Up
GayVC Meet-Up 
Facilitators:  Zayna Abusada (she/her), Matt Ferguson (he/him), Morgan Peck (she/her), and Mo Wieser (she/they)
Saturday, April 17, 4:00 p.m AK/5:00 p.m. PT/6:00 p.m. MT
Access the Meet Up
Ability Meet-Up 
Facilitators: Adrianna Horsey (she/her), Cody Hervey (he/him), Rileigh Crawford (she/her)
Sunday, April 18, 3:30 p.m. AK/4:30 p.m. PT/5:30 p.m. MT
Access the Meet Up
Working Class Meet-Up 
Facilitator: Mo Wieser (she/they)
Sunday, April 18, 4:30 p.m. AK/5:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. MT
Access the Meet Up

Translate »

Upcoming Virtual Events

"JVC Northwest 101: Service and Community"

Thursday, April 7 | 7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT
Learn about all that makes a year of service with JVC Northwest unique. We’ll talk about the opportunities available, what intentional community looks like, and dive into our values of social and ecological justice, simple living, and spirituality/reflection. There will also be plenty of time for Q+A. Register here. 

"How to Make Your Application Stand Out"

Wednesday, April 20 | 7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT
Learn how you can position yourself to be a strong candidate for service with JVC Northwest. With one week left before the April 26 priority deadline, this will also be the perfect time to get a handle on each step of the application, interview, matching, and placement process. Register here. 

Zayna Abusada

(She/her/hers)
JVC Northwest Recruiter

Zayna Abusada (Ashland, MT ’17-18, Anchorage, AK ’18-19) was most recently a JV in south-central Alaska serving with immigrant and refugee English-Language learners as the Academy for Citizenship and Civics Support Specialist with the Alaska Literacy Program (ALP) in Anchorage. Zayna first served with Indigenous students on the Northern Cheyenne and Crow Reservations. Originally from Iowa City, Iowa, Zayna went on to earn her undergraduate degree in History and Theological Studies with a minor in Middle Eastern Studies at Saint Louis University.